Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Hora-Machacek Legion holds monthly meeting

July 15, 2009
Traer Star-Clipper

The Hora-Machacek Legion Auxiliary met for their monthly meeting on Tuesday, July 7, at the post home in Clutier. The evening began at 6:30 p.m. with a supper provided by the president, Veronica. There was eight members present and one guest, Tama County President Joleen Denbow. They enjoyed chicken casserole, salad, roll and bars.

The monthly meeting began at 7:30 p.m. Three more members came for the meeting. Pauline Sienkneckt and Eileen Hora advanced the colors. Music was played by Diane Caloud. Mary Seda called the roll and read last months minutes. Treasurer Margaret gave the financial report. No bills were presented for payment.

Joleen Denbow gave a report on the National Guard fund raiser that was held on June 14 at the park in Garwin. It was well attended. Our unit furnished two pans of bars which were made and donated by Mary Seda.

Joleen reported on the Tama County meeting and flag disposal that was held on June 23 at the post home in Clutier. There were 19 ladies and 14 men present. Potluck at 6:30 p.m. was enjoyed by all. Members assisting in the kitchen with the potluck were Marcella Caslavka, Sharon Knoop, Sue Vesely and Emma Knoop. the rain subsided so the flag disposal ceremony was held. There was seven members from our unit present. Joleen reported that school of instruction will be on Aug. 18, at 7 p.m. at the Gladbrook post home. The next joint Tama County meeting will be on Sept. 22 at 7 p.m. at the Gladbrook post home.

The annual IVH picnic at Marshalltown sponsored by the Tama County Legion and Auxiliary will be Saturday, August 1 at 11 a.m. at Malloy Hall. Volunteers, escorts and food need to be at IVH at 10:30 a.m. Any unit member attending is asked to bring a covered dish. Several members volunteered to provide food that is the unit's obligation for the picnic.

A thank you was read from the Operation Comfort Warriors: Meet the challenge which we had sent a monetary donation. Thank you from IVH in Marshalltown on the April donation of 26 pounds of rag balls from our unit.

Diane Caloud won the door prize. The next meeting will be on August 4 beginning at 7:30 p.m.

Joleen Denbow conducted the installation of the 2009-2010 unit officers. President Veronica Pavlicek; Vice President, Evelyn Caloud; Secretary, Mary Seda; Treasurer, Margaret Babinat; Chaplain Elaine Dostal; Historian, Eileen Hora; Sgt. at Arms, Pauline Sienknecht; Executive Board, Julia Babinat, Marcella Caslavka and Linda Dvorak.

A thank you gift was presented to Joleen Denbow.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web